O IB curriculum, u so cray brofus.

Continuing in my attempt to get a head start on the upcoming school year, one of my aquisitions from the library has been “Love in the Time of Cholera”. Although I’m sure there is some splendid reasoning as to why this book is on the IB reading list (I’ll be the first to admit the nature imagery throughout is well done.) it left me with a bit of a “weird taste in my mouth”, so to speak.

20120727-115100.jpg

The premise can be summed up in a quote from the back of the book:
“As [the dude of the story] rises in his business career he whiles away the years in 622 affairs- yet he reserves his heart for [the dudette of the story].”

Somehow I don’t think that after six hundred and twenty-two other women you are exactly ‘saving yourself for someone special’…still, if I ever turn out to be a nymphomaniac It’s good to know I can blame it on classical literature.

To overview;
“Romeo and Juliet” (horny teenagers are horny), “To the Virgins, To Make Much of Time” (get laid while you’re young enough to enjoy it), specific stories by Chaucer (definition of the word “bawdy”) and now this. In the midst of all this the moralistic Dickens’ novel is kinda just lumped in, providing an amusing contrast.

…I’m slowly coming to the conclusion that the majority of “great writers” were pretty obsessed with sex. Either that or the meetings that take place to put together the IB English curriculum are…interesting.

2 thoughts on “O IB curriculum, u so cray brofus.

  1. Guess what I’m reading this year? The Importance of Being Earnest! And also Great Expectations! And a bunch of other books that I can’t remember but the point is I will not be mindscarred like you! Mwa ha ha ha ha ha….

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

