Of skirts and sealing wax, of cabbages and kings…

I mentioned the skirt I had made for my birthday, and since I’ve been wearing it around two or three times week (Dad says 2.5) I thought I’d give it a little post.

First, the all important bit (because sewing for yourself  usually isn’t cheaper than buying clothes.  Quite often the reverse.), cost.

  • 3m clearance rack, blue, machine embroidered,mystery substance ( I’m 99% sure it’s cotton. ).$6.00
  • blue thread…………………………………………………………$1.50 (or so.)
  • 2m “velvet” black ribbon……………………………………….$3.00
  • elastic for the waist………………………………………………$0.00 (came from my mom)
  • Total:…………………………………………………………………$10.50

And now…. for zee peektures…

My view of this skirt.  This is the only photo anywhere near the original color.

Here I’m doing what my Mom calls ‘model hands’. Silly mother. Those are ‘hands of death’.

This is fast becoming one of my very favorite outfits. It makes me feel like Alice… hence the title

I read somewhere that the original Alice was dark haired…. and double armed.

One thing about this skirt, I did forget to zig-zag the seams, so I’ll have to do that when I get a chance. Aside from that, it makes me happy. Constructive criticism/ advice welcome, but be gentle, it’s my first project on the sewing machine.

K-len.

3 thoughts on “Of skirts and sealing wax, of cabbages and kings…

  1. Very impressive for a first effort K. And it’s true sewing is not less expensive than buying at VV Boutique; however, it is a lot more satisfying. Grandma Arlis (don’t be fooled, I’m posting from Jesse’s computer.}

  2. Well done, Kaelen! It looks very comfortable with a colour that will go with many different coloured tops.
    I like the length too.
    You do look like a true model. Not sure about the one behind you though – silly Dad.
    Love,
    MLou

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

